top of page
Writer's pictureLisa

so long, damaged hair...hello olaplex

Okay, chances are if you've consumed any of my content whatsoever you probably already know and understand my love for Olaplex... but I am here to talk about every single in and out of why I love the products, how I use them, what they do, so on and so forth.

Let's break it down now.


What is Olaplex?!

Olaplex is a three part bond reconstructer.

Well what the hell does that mean, right?

So on a microscopic level, hair is made up of a bunch of tiny disulfide bonds. Between chemical, mechanical, environmental and heat damage those disulfide bonds start to break, little by little.

Our goal is to have your hair be as strong as possible, to have as many of those little disulfide bonds strong and attached as possible.

Olaplex has a patented ingredient: Bis-Aminopropyl Diglycol Dimaleate .....dare you to say that ten times fast... actually I dare you to say that one time slowly.

This ingredient finds all those broken bonds inside your hair and links them back together.


Three part system

As I said the Olaplex system consists of 3 parts being number 1, 2 & 3. Shocker.

All three products contain that same active ingredient, just in different concentrations. No. 1 being the most concentrated and No. 3 being the least. They are created this way being that 1 and 2 are meant to be used together, in salon monthly. & No. 3 is formulated to be used weekly at home.


Stand alone treatment

This is how you get the most Olaplex love possible in one sitting. To perform a stand alone Olaplex treatment you mix 1/2 oz. of Olaplex No. 1 with 3 oz. of water. Apply to wet, unwashed hair and allow to sit for a minimum of 10 minutes. Layer No. 2 over top and allow to sit for another 10 minutes minimum.

I personally charge $30 for this in salon treatment.


Add on to color service

Another way Olaplex can be used is as an add-on treatment to a color service. The best way to do this is to mix 1/16 oz. of No. 1 into your lightener or color. As your color service processes the Olaplex works it's magic putting those bonds back together to give you stronger hair. Another way to look at it is almost like an insurance policy when lightening. It makes sure the hair stays strong and healthy when using bleach.

I personally have worked Olaplex in to all of my lightening service prices because I believe in it so much and I don't want to use lightener on hair without it.

For color however it is not worked into the price but I do give the option to every client to add it in to their color for an additional $15 charge.

I also like to add Olaplex into all of my toners for some extra love right after lightening.

No. 2 is also included with an add on treatment, sitting for a minimum of 10 mins.


You following me?


No. 3 - your take home treatment

No. 3 is made to be used weekly.

The directions say to use on wet, unwashed hair. So what they mean is you get in shower, wet your hair, apply Olaplex, let sit while you wash your body, shave, perform a rock solo, whatever then rinse and shampoo and condition.

This works great, however I like to get a little more out of it.

If I have an hour or so free and I wanna soak in the tub, this is a great time to do an Olaplex treatment. I flip my head over the sink, wet my hair, apply No. 3, wrap it up into a loose bun on top of my head and let it sit while I soak. Then shampoo and condition.

Sometimes I even do that same loose bun treatment and leave it in all day. I love to use my day off as hair treatment day and you can usually find me grocery shopping at Aldi with a head full of Olaplex.


Point is, you can leave it in as long as you want.


Another thing I like to do (which is technically against the rules but ya know I'm a rebel) is use the tiniest amount of No. 3 as a leave in. After washing my hair I brush it out and put a pea sized dot of Olaplex in my hands and apply to my ends. It gives my hair a nice slip and I've never found that it's left me greasy.

For those of you wondering, No. 3 retails for $28 and you can buy some HERE.


Some final thoughts about Olaplex

It's an investment into your business but it is so worth it.

You're not really a legit stylist if you're not strengthening your clients hair each visit, IMHO.

Client's refer to you more when their hair becomes healthy af.

Olaplex customer service is next level. So freaking helpful and supportive.

I'm taking over Olaplex Snapchat April 4th so make sure you add them @olaplex.


Also no, this is not sponsored. I wish it was. Olaplex...hmu


See ya next week.


x lisa.

186 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page